In addition to the German Embassy in Washington, DC, there are eight German Consulates General throughout the United States: in Atlanta, Boston, Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, Miami, New York and San Francisco. Each Consulate covers a specific geographical area. In order to find out which one can assist you with your concerns, please consult our interactive consulate finder or have a look at the list of consular districts below.

Atlanta - Consulate General

Atlanta Skyline (c) picture-alliance/Chad Ehlers

The states of Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee.

Boston - Consulate General

Boston, (c) Consulate General Boston

The states of Connecticut (apart from Fairfield County), Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont.

Chicago - Consulate General

View of Chicago's Skyline at Sunset

The states of Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota and Wisconsin.

Houston - Consulate General

Houston Skyline

The states of Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Texas.

Los Angeles - Consulate General

Los Angeles (c) picture-alliance/dpa

The counties Imperial, Kern, Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara and Ventura of the state of California as well as the states of Arizona, Colorado, Nevada and Utah.

Miami - Consulate General

View from Waterfront / Blick auf Konsulat von der Wasserseite aus

The state of Florida as well as Puerto Rico and the American Virgin Islands.

New York - Consulate General

At night the Empire State Building is illuminated in the colors black, red and gold.

The states of New York, New Jersey and Pennsylvania as well as Fairfield County of the state of Connecticut and Bermuda (British overseas territory).

San Francisco - Consulate General

Golden Gate Bridge in San Francisco

The counties Alameda, Alpine, Amador, Butte, Calaveras, Colusa, Contra Costa, Del Norte, El Dorado, Fresno, Glenn, Humboldt, Inyo, Kern, Kings, Lake, Lassen, Madera, Marin, Mariposa, Mendocino, Merced, Modoc, Mono, Monterey, Napa, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sacramento, San Benito, San Francisco, San Joaquin, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou, Solano, Sonoma, Stanislaus, Sutter, Tehama, Trinity, Tulare, Tuolumne, Yolo and Yuba of the state of California as well as the states of Alaska, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Washington, Wyoming and the American overseas territories American Samoa, Baker-, Howland-, Jarvis-, Johnston-, Midway- and Palmyra-Island.

Consulate Finder

German Missions in the United States

Find out which of the nine German Missions throughout the US can assist you by using our Consulate Finder.

Honorary Consul Finder

Map of Honorary Consul locations throughout the United States

Did you know that some of the services offered by the Embassy and Consulates General can also be delivered by an Honorary Consul in your area?

Your are leaving the mobile version of the German Mission website.